Start a new topic

ILBC Codec

Would it be possible to allow for the ILBC codec to be used? I've found the audio quality to be superb using this codec rather than the PCMU codec that this method currently seems to only accommodate. I would be ecstatic to donate if this were implemented!

Thank you for your time,

Nicolas

1 person likes this idea

GSM is available now on gateways 3 - 6 for donors. This is a very low bandwidth codec especially suited for mobile users. Sound quality is that of a typical cellular call.

Donating users can simply force this codec in their clients in order to use it on the gateway. 

I spent a little time looking at ILBC a few months ago and ran into some difficulty implementing it in test. I'll take a fresh look after deploying GSM on all the gateways.

Hi Bill,

Thanks for the Great Service. How would a guy about forcing this codec after a guy donates?I am still learning about all the SIP,VOIP,ATA stuff so would this help on the sip client on my Android & on the Linksys PAP2T I am using in my home office? Thanks again.

GSM is now available on all gateways.

To "force" the codec means to select it as the only one available in your client or hardware. Generally, you can specify a list of allowed codecs. Simply allow only GSM.

Does this mean when I purchase the G729 codec for my client it is not being used since GVGW does not support it?  How do I enable the GSM codec?  Do I just need to make a donation or is this only for previous donors?

On another note, can you explain something I've been trying to figure out?  Why is it that we need a SIP gateway?  Is it not possible to make a SIP gateway app directly on the iPhone especially after Jailbreaking so that we can have a direct connection to Google Voice?  Or will that just drain the battery or something?

TIA

Would the new gateway support ILBC or G729 codec?

Same as before, we are supporting G.711u and GSM.